Reviews

“A fantastic holiday!”
“A fantastic holiday!”
This is a marvellous hotel and one I would thoroughly recommend to anyone coming to Taormina. We had a warm welcome on our arrival and the staff were all so friendly and helpful throughout our 2 week stay. Nothing was too much trouble , organising trips and booking restaurants for us! We had paid for a sea view but were upgraded to a room with a larger balcony which was lovely. The room was nice with air conditioning . There was an empty fridge- no mini bar, which was marvellous, so we were able to keep our own water and other drinks cool -very unusual to see such a facility. The Wi-Fi was free and the connection was excellent. Breakfast was very good with a wide selection of food and drinks. Lunches were available at the pool restaurant and we ate there on a few occasions- the food again was very good and the prices reasonable Overall an excellent hotel which I would struggle to find fault with, and one which we would return to if we visit the area again in the future!. Tripadvisor, september 2014
 
“Authentic. Beautiful. Wonderful.”
“Authentic. Beautiful. Wonderful.”
We have just returned from a week at this hotel and would go back tomorrow given the opportunity! The surroundings are beautifully picturesque and truly italian. The rooms are nicely furnished and very clean. We had a sea view with a terrace and thoroughly enjoyed sitting overlooking the sea with a cup of tea (facilities provided in room) in the morning or a drink from the bar in the evening. The service of all staff cannot be faulted. They work hard and are passionate and successful at running a truly fantastic hotel. The location is ideal. It's a short walk from the main strip of shops, squares, bars and restaurants and also the cable car or steps down to the beach. It was our first visit to Sicily and choosing this hotel was a large part in making it such a brilliant holiday. Book it now!!! Tripadvisor, august 2014
 
Beautiful hotel
Beautiful hotel
We stayed here for 10 days at the beginning of July, and had a most relaxing time. The hotel is very well-placed in Taormina, and so is convenient for restaurants, shops etc, and the views aross the bay are superb - but it was the quality of the hotel itself which made our holiday outstanding. From the moment we arrived the staff were charming, helpful and thoroughly efficient - all the staff are friendly,but never 'in your face'. Rooms are spotless, fresh flowers appear as if by magic, and the overall standard of cleanliness throughout is also to be commended. Breakfast room offers a superb selection of fresh foods and the lunchtime menu by the poolside is well -designed. Great to have a lift to the poolside area, too. We had a beautiful room with our own small terrace area, overlooking the well-maintained gardens and the sea beyond: worth noting the air-conditioning works very well and is quiet! Rooms have the added attraction of a fridge and tea/coffee making facilities - not something you find often across Italy. We really felt throughout our time here that the staff cared very much for their guests and were proud to be part of this wonderful hotel. That made our stay very special . Tripadvisor, july 2014
 
“A perfect honeymoon ”
“A perfect honeymoon ”
Spent our Honeymoon here, and could not be more satisfied. The day we arrived we got a small room with no private veranda. We told the helpfull staff that we really wished to upgrade, the next day we got to choose between a better rom in the hotel or the apartment. We choose the apartment and could not be more pleased. The apartment has a beautiful view and a very modern look. This made our Honeymoon just perfect. The breakfast also is the best. My husband has gluten intolerance, and that was not a problem at all. Glutenfree bread and all he need everyday. And of course we have to say again, the staff is so friendly and helpfull. We can absolutely recomend this hotel. The hotel is nearby all you need in taormina. Hope to come back again :) Tripadvisor, june 2014
 
“The hotel with the green shutters”
“The hotel with the green shutters”
This hotel was booked as part of a tour with Expressions holidays - an excellent 10 day rail trip with Taormina as its end point. Regardless of 1* or 5* Luxe this is probably the best hotel I have stayed in. You enter through (the usual for Taormina) crowded car park into a cool elegant attractive lobby where you are met with a smile and a warmth of welcome that really impresses. The hotel itself is visually attractive - geometrically perfect - green shutters - wonderful kempt gardens surrounding a sparkling pool itself surrounded by a sun terrace and the view which is why people go to Taormina. We had experience of 2 room types with terrace and without. Without and the bathroom was large, walk in shower and very modern for 100 year old building. We asked if we could have a terrace and within a half an hour they had found a room for the next day. The difference was a smaller bathroom and slightly different lay out. View was the same stunner and the beds were as good quality and the cleaning of the room as superb as every other day. The hotel exudes a professional and personal approach that immediately becomes apparent. I believe (but don't know) that it is a local family owned business. Breakfasts were generous meats, cheeses pastries breads with plenty of fresh fruit and the salads had plenty of new season strawberries. I know in some hotels we've all had fruit salad that should have read apple salad. The orange juice was local, fresh and delicious. Loquats or nisperos or whatever you call them were just in season and there were big bowls of them together with apples and pears. 6 or 7 types of other juices were available. Carmella brought us our cappuccinos pronto and that started the day. If you go try the Miele de Castelmola - wonderfully fragrant honey - orange blossom I would say. The bathrooms, beds, bed linen, pictures and the doors and shutters were all high quality. What makes it stand out - the staff - they all shone. Carmella's wicked look as she said "I know, I know - cappuccino senza cacao". Bravo Hotel Belvedere. Tripadvisor, may 2014
 
“A more beautiful hotel one could not find”
“A more beautiful hotel one could not find”
Villa Belvedeer was one of the most beautiful places we have every stayed on our many trips throughout Europe. The staff was wonderful and very helpful with restaurants and things to do. Our room had a fabulous view of the pool, courtyard, Mt. Etna, and the Mediterranean. The breakfast was excellent. The hotel is not in the real touristy area of Taormina and a short walk, even though uphill, to Corso Umberto. Tripadvisor, april 2014
 
“Amazing - should have more than three stars”
“Amazing - should have more than three stars”
This hotel was fantastic - we just couldn't believe that it only has three stars. The room we had was amazing, and on a par with five star hotels we've stayed in and the pool area was great. The staff were very helpful and the hotel is in a fantastic location. All excellent! Review on Tripadvisor, march 2, 2014
 
“Amazing Stay!!!”
“Amazing Stay!!!”
We arrived at night and the guy who brought us to our room was very helpful(don't know his name only thing I know is he is not from Sicily) when we got into our room we find out that we had our own terrace/balcony with an amazing view which we did expect and we decide to order two bottles of wine as we all ready arrived late we enjoyed the view with our wines, the next morning we woke up with a amazing sunrise and went down for a breakfast which was very good, we stayed 2nights in total we wanted to extend one more night but they dind't had availability, I'm a boutique hotel owner and I must say that this hotel is definitely with a five star, Taormina is a great village and I will definitely come back one day and I will stay in villa belvedere, thanks to all stuff who made our stay memorable. Review on Tripadvisor, december 23, 2013
 
“Perfect stay in Taormina”
“Perfect stay in Taormina”
After a slightly stressful drive from Palermo, The Belvedere Hotel was exactly what we needed. From the moment we stepped through the door the staff were fantastic - warm, friendly, and accommodating - and made us feel welcome. We decided to upgrade from our room in the hotel to one of their new apartments a short walk down the road. I think we got lucky with the price - we booked via Expedia - but if you can, it's definitely worth trying the apartments (which are very impressive) or getting a sea facing room. The breakfast was one of the best we had during our tour of Sicily and the staff were always on hand to show us where the nearest beach or attraction is. We spent a few days by the hotel pool and the beach as well as walking around Taormina, which is beautiful. Taormina is one of the more expensive places in Sicily, but it's worth spending a little more to stay in the Belvedere so you can completely unwind and enjoy this stunning Sicilian town. Review onTripadvisor, november 4, 2013
 
“An Absolute Treasure”
“An Absolute Treasure”
The memories of this hotel and its location will stay with me for a long time. The hotel has an elegant, timeless ambiance, enhanced by the quiet professionalism of the staff. The public areas are very well presented and the pool deck café should not be missed, both in terms of the panoramic views and the quality of the food served. The pool itself was also very clean and the water quality excellent. The buffet breakfast was also excellent and a wide range of foods provided. My room was spotlessly clean with a wonderful view across the bay. The hotel is located about 10 minutes stroll from the main street. Review on Tripadvisor, october 18, 2013
 
"Five star ambiance"
We adored the intimate pool area. Lush green vegetation, palm trees rising into blue air, small but adequate pool & restaurant and a spectacular view on mount Etna and the blue and green sea at its feet. Breakfast, room and staff service level all satisfactory, do book on the hotel site though to make sure you get a sea view room. As a former travel journalist, I have to dig deep to remember a better sea view from my room. You might not wanna leave it ;) Review on Tripadvisor, september 16 2013
 
“So good I am not sure I want to share this hotel with you!”
“So good I am not sure I want to share this hotel with you!”
I am not sure that I want to tell you about this hotel!!!! We have just returned from 9 days bliss staying in this hotel - AGAIN!!!! We have lost track of the number of times we have visited Taormina. If you are looking for a small family run hotel offering excellent breakfasts in a light and airy breakfast room and really tasty cooked lunches under the shade of the olive trees by the swimming pool (which is always spotless) in a town that is stuffed with a huge variety of restaurants and pizzerias then this is the hotel for you. There are lots of flowers and trees all around this hotel and the chef just needs to come out of the kitchen to pick any herbs or citrus fruits that she needs. From the private balcony on our top floor room there was a view of Etna to die for and the bay below with cruise ships, small private yatchs, cruisers and schooners provides an ever changing scene. The staff have always been really helpful and they speak English perfectly. Review on Tripadvisor, august 29 2013
 
“Paradise in Taormina”
“Paradise in Taormina”
This hotel has it all. We took the suggestions of other contributors and booked a top floor room with a balcony. The view was unbelievable. The room was immaculately clean and well maintained. From the moment we arrived at Villa Belvedere we were made so welcome. All the staff every where in the hotel greeted us with a smile and a greeting. The hotel is full of charm, gracious and elegant in its furnishings. Breakfast was a joy each day as was the time spent in and beside the beautiful pool. All requests we had for information were dealt with quickly, efficiently and in a very friendly manner. A highlight of our week here was a fishing trip out onto the bay. The hotel organised it all for us just perfectly. It was great fun to then be able to present our catch to the reception staff! The position of the hotel is also superb. It is a short walk with only a few steps to get to Corso Umberto, the main shopping street. Don't look else where. This hotel is It. Review on Tripadvisor, july 21 2013
 
“Needs to be kept a secret!”
“Needs to be kept a secret!”
One of the most delightful hotels we've stayed in. We were made to feel very welcome but in a very discreeet manner so it felt almost as though we were staying in our own beautiful Italian villa. The room was comfortable with great views..we probably had the best run of 7 nights good sleep that I can rememeber in a long time, such a comfortable bed. Breakfast was amazing..fresh strawberries, cherries, melon, kiwi. Lovely cakes, jams, breads and pastries, it was all delicious and served in a most tasteful dining room. Lunch served by the pool was perfect, washed down with a good bottle of rose. In the evenings we would walk through the gardens next to the hotel and into town for a meal of pasta or pizza, all close by. A really wonderful week. Review on Tripadvisor, june 25 2013
 
“Better than most 5* hotels we have stayed in, thank you for great service and exceptional value”
“Better than most 5* hotels we have stayed in, thank you for great service and exceptional value”
Myself, my partner ( mid 30?s,) and our little baby boy Joshua (10 months) stayed at Villa Belvedere for two nights and it was absolutely great. We travel a lot and having stayed in many 5 star hotels and places that have come highly recommended by others We can honestly say that this place is up there with the very best ever. The service provided by Joshua (front desk) and his Manager was exceptional and we were very well looked after at all times. The location and views from the hotel are stunning and it is ideally located for a base from which to visit all that Taormina has to offer. The rooms were great, very coean and spacious and we would highly recommend the new apartments which are well finished and worth the money. Keep up the great work guys and we will definitely be seeing you again in the future. Best wishes from Craig, Claire and little Joshua x (from London, UK) Review on Tripadvisor, may 19th, 2013
 
“Wonderful place”
“Wonderful place”
This was a wonderful place to finish our ‘Treasures of Sicily’ tour with Esplora. We had stayed in three other locations in Sicily and had loved them all but I would say that this was probably the best. Our room had a brilliant shower – it was a double shower – one overhead and the other a normal wall mounted one with brilliant powerful supply. The room itself was well appointed – plenty of sockets (always my bugbear). the view of Etna from the window was wonderful. we were woken up each morning by the birds in the trees outside our room. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful with bougainvillea all around. The breakfast room has a panoramic view of the sea and the breakfast itself was plentiful with lots of choice. We were walking distance from Taormina and what a lovely place it is. We went in April which is slightly before the main season – I think it would be a different place during peak season as parking was already becoming a problem (not for us though as we were collected by minibus) but it was quite amusing watching the juggling of cars when somebody wanted to get out. It’s the same over the whole of Taormina though! We did a jeep safari up to Etna with a guide called Christie who was very good and to be recommended! As it was the last two days of our holiday we checked out at 11 but weren’t flying back until later in the evening so we had a last long leisurely lunch by the pool with the other seven members of our group. Perfect end to a perfect holiday. Review on Tripadvisor, 1st may 2013
 
“A perfect small hotel in Taormina”
“A perfect small hotel in Taormina”
We arrived late evening and were warmly welcomed by the reception staff. The hotel oozes charm & immediately felt like a haven of comfort and efficiency.Our room was extremely comfortable with a spotless bathroom and good sized terrace with sea view and good view of Mt Etna. The public areas were carefully and tastefully furnished to a high standard and in a style appropriate to the age and elegance of the villa. The hotel gardens and terraces were overflowing with flowers and infused with the heavenly scent of orange blossom. Breakfast offered everything one could want in a lovely setting. The location is near perfect, quiet, and only a short walk along the narrow streets towards the town centre,passing a variety of restaurants on the way. Also near to the bus stop for going down to the beaches. I would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel to anyone and will certainly stay ther myself if I return to Taormina. Review on Tripadvisor, april 25th, 2013
 
“Gorgeous garden, views and wonderful staff”
“Gorgeous garden, views and wonderful staff”
We enjoyed our stay at the Villa Belvedere immensely. I’d contacted the hotel prior to our stay to notify them that the reason for our stay was for my husband’s birthday. They had a BEAUTIFUL and delicious cake and bottle of Prosecco waiting for us upon our arrival. I’d simply asked for a note that said “Buon Compleanno”. The staff couldn’t have been more charming and helpful and this hotel was well situated to easily get to all that Taormina has to offer. We found Taormina to be a very romantic town. Loved it and would happily return there! The breakfast buffet is wonderful as well; accommodating all tastes. Review on tripadvisor, april 25th, 2013
 
“Perfection”
“Perfection”
We would highly recommend the Belvedere Hotel – far better than a normal 3 star. The staff couldn’t have been more helpful and attentive and the views from the hotel and gardens across to Etna and the coastline are fantastic with very comfortable and clean rooms. Breakfasts were excellent too. The lemon trees and sweet perfume of jasmine leading down to the pool in the steep Italian garden were delightful. An absolute treat! Tripadvisor, april 16th, 2013
 
“A dilightful experience”
“A dilightful experience”
We returned to this beautiful hotel a third time because we were charmed by its quiet elegance and friendly ambience. Its lovely garden is filled with the perfume of the Mediterranean and its pool is set overlooking the Ionian Sea where lunch is served daily. The breakfast is delicious and exceeds the standard of most hotels where we have stayed previously in Taormina. It is close to Corso Umberto and to many excellent restaurants which the staff are only too happy to recommend. Our accommodation was spacious and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly.We returned to this beautiful hotel a third time because we were charmed by its quiet elegance and friendly ambience. Its lovely garden is filled with the perfume of the Mediterranean and its pool is set overlooking the Ionian Sea where lunch is served daily. The breakfast is delicious and exceeds the standard of most hotels where we have stayed previously in Taormina. It is close to Corso Umberto and to many excellent restaurants which the staff are only too happy to recommend. Our accommodation was spacious and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly.We returned to this beautiful hotel a third time because we were charmed by its quiet elegance and friendly ambience. Its lovely garden is filled with the perfume of the Mediterranean and its pool is set overlooking the Ionian Sea where lunch is served daily. The breakfast is delicious and exceeds the standard of most hotels where we have stayed previously in Taormina. It is close to Corso Umberto and to many excellent restaurants which the staff are only too happy to recommend.Our accommodation was spacious and comfortable and the staff were helpful and friendly. Review on Tripadvisor, april 4th, 2013
 
“Hidden gem”
“Hidden gem”
I am a travel agent and have just returned from the Villa Belvedere – I cannot fault the Hotel, the location is amazing we had a sea view room with terrace which offered stunning views of Mount Etna and the sea, the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The service is excellent the reception / front office staff cannot do enough for you to ensure your have a wonderful stay in Taormina. Lunch is offered by the swimming pool each day offering a limited menu but supplemented by a wonderful buffet with Sicilian food specialities. I would recommend this Hotel without hesitation it is ideal for couples, friends and solo’s. This is a first class hotel fantastic central location. Review on Tripadvisor, october 16th, 2012
 
“Unbeatable”
“Unbeatable”
My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and if you are looking to stay in Taormina look no further! The location is superb and has a beautiful botanical garden nearby that you can walk through during the day and early evening. The town is only 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are great and cleaned daily. We booked our stay direct through the hotel and this is the only way you can get one of the top floor rooms with a balcony which we would highly recommend. It was definitely the perfect hotel and location for our honeymoon. Mr and Mrs Dennis Review on Tripadvisor, august 30th ,2012
 
“One of the very best hotel in Italy”
“One of the very best hotel in Italy”
We stayed at Villa Belvedere over 4 days in mid July. The hotels must rank as one of the best hotels in Italy. From the location, overlooking the straights of Messina and the terraced gardens below the hotel; to the rooms and furnishings; to the courteous and attentive staff – the hotel was excellent. We did not have a car (although I note arrangements can be made for parking) and the hotel is very conveniently located next door to the “Villa Comunale” – the town gardens, and is behind the Greco-Roman theatre. The hotel is also ideally placed to access the “corso” the heart of the town. All the staff, from reception to housekeeping, were fantastic and extremely helpful. The hotel is a credit to them. Finally, one of the highlights at lunchtime is to sample the antipasto plate on offer by the pool. The food is great and sitting on the pool terrace blessed with such a great view is a treat. Review on Tripadvisor, july 19th, 2012
 
“Short stays but very sweet ones.”
“Short stays but very sweet ones.”
It is always a great pleasure to return to stay at Taormina’s Villa Belvedere. Right from the first time I went there, many years ago now, the welcoming air of the reception area felt familiar, somewhere I knew I could relax and enjoy my days in Taormina. Each time I regretfully leave, it is with the intention of writing to Trip Advisor about this delightful hotel and also mentioning the loving improvements which have been gradually carried out in wintertime over the years by the proprietors, without ever losing sight of the typically Sicilian, family villa atmosphere there. Finally I have found time to get down to doing just that. The staff are so discreetly friendly and are always helpful and informative when necessary. Views are of course absolutely glorious and all rooms, even those without a sea view which I have occasionally occupied, are spotlessly clean, very comfortably furnished and just as pleasant as those with a glorious view over the sea. The beautifully kept gardens could well be included in an “Italian Gardens” guide and nestling among them is the pretty swimming pool, with a tall palm tree on a tiny island in the centre. I find the various elegantly furnished, comfortable lounges and reading rooms a real pleasure to use and there are always plenty of books to choose from, should I by chance finish my own. The gracious, panoramic, breakfast room offers a delicious range of options for a very good buffet breakfast which also includes an ample choice of several types of fresh fruit, fresh fruit salad and other appetising food. Full marks to the fairly new, open-air restaurant idea, serving different, tasty, local specialities for lazy lunches every day, and with a superb but affordable wine list. As far as I am concerned, Villa Belvedere is the best place in Taormina to spend a truly enjoyable holiday in very beautiful surroundings indeed. My only, very tiny criticism is the still-modest €3,00 charge for wi-fi, albeit unlimited, which I like to think will soon carry no charge at all. Review on Tripadvisor, 3 June 2012
 
“our favorite hotel in Italy”
“our favorite hotel in Italy”
The Hotel Belvedere is a hotel never to be forgotten, and for my husband and I, a romantic and memorable part of our honeymoon. The view from our room was stunning, and our room itself, comfortable, cozy, and clean. I liked that the hotel has many sitting rooms, lounge areas, and ‘nooks’- each with their own character- so that the hotel feels less like a hotel and more like someone’s spacious summer house-to-be-explored. Breakfast was AMAZING. Above all else, the staff is friendly, helpful, and good-humored. You must stay here. Review on Tripadvisor, april 8th, 2012
 
“Stunning, Charming, and Not To Be Missed”
“Stunning, Charming, and Not To Be Missed”
My adult son and I spent 4 nights at the charming, beautiful Villa Belvedere in late March. Our stay was perfect, and I mean this, in every way. The hotel management was infinitely helpful even before we arrived. My phone calls from New York were given time and yielded excellent advice from Maria and Antonella. Upon arrival, we were greeted with the same thoughtful consideration. The welcome drink at the little bar was most appreciated on our first night. The interior of this hotel is elegant and tastefully decorated. Our recently refurbished room (57) on the top floor and overlooking the deep blue sea below and Mt Etna beyond was gorgeous with a beautiful, brand new, all-whitebathroom. Taormina in March is enchanting because there are no crowds, the vegetation is exploding, and the temperature is ideal, although it was not warm enough to swim in the inviting pool. We marveled at how convenient and bracing it was to walk everywhere. Breakfast was copious and varied. Love that cafe latte! One last mention -the terraced garden is a treat for the eye. The garden was one of the reasons I chose Villa Belvedere. I enjoyed walking up and down it as I admired the lush vegetation (lemons the size of oranges in the trees!) and took note of a few ideas for my home garden. I recommend this hotel most highly! Review on Tripadvisor, april 3th 2012
 

Top